Newsletter copy draft

Published on Sep 26, 2020

This month's playlist is a tribute to one of my favorite modern film music composers, Jóhann Jóhannsson, who passed away recently. He's most known for his original score for the movie Theory of Everything as well as his collaborations with director Denis Villeneuve for movies like Sicario, Arrival, and Blade Runner 2049.The overall vision of the playlist is to represent the subtle hypnotic beauty of minimal and ambient music, both in orchestral and electronic compositions. The first quarter of the playlist starts off with lighter tones, like the floating synths in Instupendo's "Boy", or the hang-drum melody in Four Tet's "Lush." While these artists use their productions to build layers, Nils Frahm and Grandbrothers do a similar thing with their music but instead with the piano. At first, it's just a few simple notes repeating itself, then it starts to build on itself almost like a self-replicating robot, and by the end of the tracks, you feel the full force of the sum of all the notes and feel completely awestruck. Without a pause, I wanted to continue the momentum of the playlist with the likes of Kiasmos, Rival Consoles, Ben Bohmer, and Max Cooper. When you reach the final four tracks, it's a good opportunity to close your eyes and let the slow melancholic piano and violin melodies wash over you. Thank you, Joh Joh, for everything and may you rest in peace. Enjoy!